IT Threats and security


An intrusion detection system (IDS) is a device or software application that monitors a network or systems for malicious activity or policy violations. Any malicious activity or violation is typically reported either to an administrator or collected centrally using a security information and event management (SIEM) system.

There are four main types of IDS:

  • Network intrusion detection system (NIDS)
  • Host-based intrusion detection system (HIDS)
  • Perimeter Intrusion Detection System (PIDS)
  • VM based Intrusion Detection System (VMIDS)

Rate this solution


Average rating / 5. Vote count:

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *